Recognised Scottish Clans

Carruthers Chief

Chiefs and Commanders of Scottish Clans

As of June 2023, this is the list of Chiefs recognised by both the Lord Lyon and the Standing Council of Scottish Chiefs, and any Clan Commanders commissioned by the Lord Lyon to head an armigerous clan until a Chief is Confirmed.

*/** Although Chiefs of Clan Branches in their own right, these Chiefs fall under a High Chief who is Chief of the whole clan. Only two cases come to mind: *Clan Donald (Macdonald) and **Clan Leod (Macleod).

In this video showing the progression of Scottish Clans through the ages, Carruthers lands stay pretty static and although not as large as some, they are not considered small either.

(Carruthers in dark blue below Johnston). Click link below

List of Recognised Chiefs and Commanders of Scottish Clans and Families

Clan/Family Chief/Commander
Agnew Sir Crispin Agnew of Locknaw Bt
Allardice Richard Allardice of Allardice
Anstruther Toby Anstruther of that Ilk
Arbuthnott Keith, Viscount Arbuthnott
Arthur John MacArthur of that Ilk
Baird Richard Holman Baird of Rickarton, Ury, and Lochwood (Commander)
Bannerman Sir David Bannerman of Elsick Bt.
Bannerman Sir David Bannerman of Elsick Bt.
Barclay Peter Barclay of that Ilk
Borthwick John, Lord Borthwick
Boyle Patrick, Earl of Glasgow
Brodie Alexander Brodie of Brodie
Broun Sir Wayne Broun of Colstoun Bt.
Bruce Andrew, Earl of Elgin & Kincardine
Buchan Charles Buchan of Auchmacoy
Buchanan John Michael Baillie-Hamilton Buchanan
Burnett James Burnett of Leys
Cameron Donald Cameron of Lochiel
Campbell Torquil, the Duke of Argyll
Carmichael Richard Carmichael of Carmichael
Carnegie David, Duke of Fife
Carruthers Simon Peter Carruthers of Holmains
Cathcart Charles, Earl Cathcart
Charteris James, Earl of Wemyss and March
Chattan John Mackintosh of Mackintosh
Chisholm Hamish Chisholm of Chisholm
Cochrane Ian, Earl of Dundonald
Colville Charles, Viscount Corville of Culross
Colquhoun Sir Malcolm Colquhoun of Luss Bt.
Cranstoun David Cranston of that Ilk
Cumming Sir Alexander Penrose Gordon Cumming of Altyre Bt
Cunningham Sir John Cunninghame of that Ilk and Corsehill
Currie Robert Currie (Commander)
Dalrymple John, Earl of Stair
Davidson Alister Davidson of Davidson
Dewer Michael Kenneth Dewar of that Ilk and Vogrie
Drummond John, Earl of Perth
Dunbar Sir James Dunbar of Mochrum Bt.
Dundas David Dundas of Dundas
Durie Andrew Durie of Durie
Elliot Madam Margaret Eliott of Redheugh
Elphinstone Alexander, Lord Elphinstone
Erskine James, the Earl of Mar and Kellie
Ewen Sir John McEwen Bt. (Commander)
Ewing Thor Ewing (Commander)
Farquharson Philip Farquharson of Invercauld
Fergusson Sir Charles Fergusson of Kilkerran Bt
Forbes Nigel, the Lord Forbes
Forsyth Alistair Forsyth of that ilk
Fraser Flora, the Lady Saltoun
Fraser of Lovat Simon, the Lord Lovat
Greirson Madam Sarah Grierson of Lag
Gordon Granville, Marquess of Huntly
Graham James, the Duke of Montrose
Grant James Patrick Trevor Grant of Grant,
Gunn Iain Gunn of Gunn
Guthrie Alexander Guthrie of Guthrie
Haig Alexander, Earl Haig
Haldane Martin Haldane of Gleneagles
Hamilton Alexander, Duke of Hamilton
Hannay David Hannay of Kirkdale and of that Ilk
Hay Merlin, the Earl of Erroll
Henderson Alistair Henderson of Fordell
Hope Sir Alexander Hope of Craighall Bt.
Hunter Madam Pauline Hunter of Hunterson
Innes Guy,  Duke of Roxburghe
Irvine Alexander Irvine of Drum
Irving of Bonshaw Rupert Irving of Bonshaw
Jardine Sir William Jardine of Applegirth Bt.
Johnstone Patrick, Earl of Annandale And Hartfell
Keith James, Earl of Kintore
Kennedy David, the Marquess of Ailsa
Kerr Michael, the Marquess of Lothian
Kincaid Madam Arabella Kincaid of Kincaid
Lamont Peter Noel Lamont of that Ilk
Leask Jonathan Leask of that Ilk
Leslie James, the Earl of Rothes and Lord of Leslie
Lennox Edward Lennox of that Ilk
Lindsay Anthony, the Earl of Crawford and Balcarres
Lockhart Ranald Lockhart of The Lee
Lumsden Gillem Lumsden of that Ilk
Lyon Simon, Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne
*MacAlister William MacAlester of Loup and Kennox
MacAlpine Michael T. McAlpin (Commander)
MacBain James McBain of McBain
*MacDonald of Clanranald Ranald Alexander Captain of Clanranald
*MacDonald of Glengarry Ranald Euan McDonald of Glengarry
*MacDonald of Keppoch Ranald MacDonald of Keppoch
*MacDonald of Macdonald Godfrey, Lord Macdonald, (High Chief of Clan Donald)
*MacDonald of Sleat Sir Ian MacDonald of Sleat Bt.
*Macdonnell Ranald Euan MacDonell of Glengarry
Macdougal Morag MacDougall of MacDougall
Macdowell Fergus MacDowall of Garthland
Magillvray Iain MacGillivray (Commander)
MacGregor Sir Malcolm MacGregor of MacGregor Bt.
Macintyre Donald Russell MacIntyre of Glenoe
Machlaclan Euan Maclachlan of Maclachlan
Mackay Hon Elizabeth Fairburn
Mackenzie John, Earl of Cromartie
Mackintosh John Mackintosh of Mackintosh
MacLaine Lorne Maclaine of Lochbuie
MacLaren Donald MacLaren of MacLaren
Maclean Niall Livingstone of Bachuil, Baron the Bachuil
MacLean Sir Lachlan MacLean of Duart and Morvern Bt.
MacLennan Ruairidh MacLennan of MacLennan
**Macleod of Macleod Hugh, Macleod of Macleod, (High Chief of Clan Leod)
**Macleod of Raasay John Macleod of Raasay
**Macleod of the Lewes Torquil Macleod of the Lewes
MacMillan George MacMillan of MacMillan and Knap
Macnab Jamie Macnab of Macnab
Macnaghten Sir Malcolm Francis Macnaghten of MacNaghten Bt
Macneacail John Macneacail of Macneacail & Scorrabreac
Macneil Roderick Macneil of Barra
Macpherson James Brodie Macpherson of Cluny
Macphie Ian Morris MacPhie (Commander)
MacTavish Steven MacTavish of Dunardry
MacThomas Andrew MacThomas of Finegand
Maitland Ian, Earl of Lauderdale
Makgill Ian, the Viscount Oxfuird
Malcolm (MacCallum) Robin Malcolm of Poltalloch
Mar Margaret, the Countess of Mar
Marjoribanks Andrew Marjoribanks of that Ilk
Matheson Sir Alexander Matheson of Matheson, Bt
Menzies Robertt Ronald Menzies of that Ilk
Moffat Madam Jean Moffat of that Ilk
Moncreiffe Peregrine Moncreiffe of that Ilk
Montgomerie Archibald, the Earl of Eglinton & Winton
Morrison Alasdair Morrison of Ruchdi
Munro Hector Munro of Foulis
Murray Bruce, the Duke of Atholl
Napier Francis, Lord Napier and Ettrick
Nesbitt Mark Nesbitt of that Ilk
Ogilvy David, Earl of Airlie
Oliphant Richard Oliphant of that Ilk
Pringle Sir Norman Pringle of that Ilk and Stichil Bt
Ramsay Simon, the Earl of Dalhousie
Riddell Sir Walter John Buchanan Riddell Bt
Robertson Gilbert Robertson of Struan
Rollo David, the Lord Rollo
Rose David Rose of Kilravock
Ross David Ross of Ross and Balnagowan
Ruthven Alexander, Earl of Gowrie
Sempill James, the Lord Sempill
Scott Richard, the Duke of Buccleuch
Scott of Harden Walter, Lord Plworth
Scrymgeour Alexander, the Earl of Dundee
Shaw of Tordarroch Iain Shaw of Tordarroch
Sinclair Malcolm, the Earl of Caithness
Skene Dugald Skene of Skene
Stirling Fraser Stirling of Cader
Strachan Rob Strachan (Commander)
Strange Timothy Strange of Balcaskie
Stewart Randolph, Earl of Galloway
Sutherland Alistair, the Earl of Sutherland
Swinton John Swinton of that Ilk
Trotter Alexander Trotter of Mortonhall
Urquhart Wilkins Urquhart of Urquhart
Wallace Andrew Wallace of that Ilk
Wedderburn David, Lord Scrymgeour
Wemyss Michael Wemyss of Wemyss
Wood Joseph John Hugh Fawcett Wood of Largo

Clan Carruthers Society WP footnote grey Final to use